Yeddyurappa wins fourth trust vote

By Moderator July 30, 2019 12:13


The Bharatiya Janata Party government in Karnataka, headed by Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa, on Thursday asserted its majority in the Legislative Assembly, registering a 119-0 victory in a confidence motion.

More in News

  • Before the motion was put to vote, the Congress staged a walkout after giving vent to its anger against the government and the presiding officer, K.G. Bopaiah. The Janata Dal (Secular) too boycotted the proceedings.
  • Although it was initially passed by a voice vote, Minister for Law and Parliamentary Affairs S. Suresh Kumar pressed for a division, resulting in a head count. The Speaker announced that there were 119 votes in favour of the motion, and none against.
  • With a new government taking charge in Karnataka, Legislative Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar tendered his resignation on Monday, after making a strong plea for electoral reforms and strengthening of the anti-defection law.
    • Kumar, who ordered the disqualification of 17 rebel MLAs in the last few days, said the root of corruption was the enormous expenditure during elections.
    • He further added that the Tenth Schedule needs a total re-examination.
      • The law is not equipped with sufficient provisions to prevent defections.
      • The House can ask Parliament to take a relook at it.
    • The outgoing Speaker also called for effective implementation of the Karnataka Lokayukta Act.
      • Though the Lokayukta Act made it mandatory for all elected representatives to declare their assets before June 30, there was no penal provision.


By Moderator July 30, 2019 12:13