Context: In a battle of words, a commemorative declaration marking the 75th anniversary of the signing of the U.N. Charter was delayed as member states could not reach an agreement on phraseology.

More on the news:

  • The Five Eyes (FVEY)- The U.S., the U.K., Australia, New Zealand and Canada — along with India, objected to the use of a phrase “shared vision of a common future”, associated with China.
  • However, the document still stands a chance of passing on the June 26th anniversary.
  • The ‘silence’ process (a procedure by which a resolution passes if no formal objections are raised within a stipulated time) was broken at the request of the U.K.’s UN Ambassador who wrote a letter on behalf of the six countries to the President of the 74th General Assembly.


  • The Charter of the United Nations (also known as the UN Charter) of 1945 is the foundational treaty of the United Nations, an intergovernmental organization.
  • As a charter, it is a constituent treaty, and all members are bound by its articles.
  • The Charter of the United Nations was signed on 26 June 1945, in San Francisco, at the conclusion of the United Nations Conference on International Organization, and came into force on 24 October 1945. 
  • The Statute of the International Court of Justice is an integral part of the Charter.

Reasons behind the objection

  • The phrase, “community with a shared future for mankind” is closely associated with the Chinese Communist Party (CPC) and especially Chinese President Xi Jinping as an articulation of the country’s vision for the world.
  • Strained relationship of many countries with China
    • While objecting to the language that is apparently inspired by the CPC ideology is not new, the current impasse comes at a time when China’s relationships with a number of democracies, including India, Australia and the U.S., are strained.

Demand of these countries:

  • The objecting countries wanted the resolution to read, “We will work together with partners to strengthen coordination and global governance for the common good of present and future generations and to realize our shared vision for a better future as envisaged in the preamble of the UN Charter”

The Five Eyes (FVEY)

  • The Five Eyes (FVEY) is an intelligence alliance comprising Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States. 
  • These countries are parties to the multilateral UK-USA Agreement, a treaty for joint cooperation in signals intelligence.

Source: TH

Source: https://www.thehindu.com/news/international/un-75-declaration-delayed/article31927129.ece#:~:text=Given the impasse, General Assembly,York time on June 25.