The Ministry of Shipping and the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways are responsible for the formation and implementation of policies and Programmes for the development of various modes of transport except the railways and the civil aviation.   Railways About 35.32 per cent of the route kilometer and 47.09 per cent of running track kilometer and 48.26 per cent of total track kilometer is electrified. The network is divided into 17 zones. Divisions are the basic operating units. The 17 zones and their respective headquarters are given here:

Zonal Railways Headquarters
Central Mumbai
Eastern Kolkata
East Coast Bhubaneshwar
East Central Hajipur
Northern New Delhi
Northern Central Prayagraj
Northern Eastern Gorakhpur
Northeast Frontier Maligaon ( Guwahati)
North Western Jaipur
Southern Chennai
South Central Secunderabad
South Eastern Kolkata
South East Central Railway Bilaspur
South Western Railway Hubli
Western Mumbai
West Central Railway Jabalpur
Metro Railway Kolkata
  Roads: The Ministry of Road Transport and Highways is the apex body for formulation and administration of the rules, regulations and laws relating to road transport and transport research. The National Highways Development Project (NHDP) was mainly being implemented by National Highways Authority of India (NHAI0 and National Highways and Infrastructure Development Corporation Ltd. (NHIDCL), and is spread over seven phases with an estimated expenditure of about 6,00,000 crore. Some of the major National Highways constructed under this programme include Golden Quadrilateral (GQ) connecting 4 major metropolitan cities viz., Delhi-Mumbai-Chennai-Kolkata, North South & East West Corridors (NS-EW) connecting Srinagar to Kanyakumari and Silchar to Porbandar with a spur from Salem to Cochin, road connectively of major ports of the country to national highways. The remaining works under NHDP have now been subsumed under the Ministry’s new flagship programme-Bharatmala. Bharatmala Pariyojana The Ministry has taken up detailed review of NHs network with a view to develop the road connectively to border areas, development of coastal roads including road connectively for non-major ports, improvement in the efficiency of national corridors, development of economic corridors, inter corridors and feeder routes along with integration with sagarmala, etc., under Bharatmala Pariyojana. The Bharat Pariyojana envisages development of about 26,000 km length of economic corridors, which along with Golden Quadrilateral (GQ) and North-South and East West (NS-EW) Corridors are expected to carry majority of the freight traffic on roads. Further, about 8,000 km of inter corridors and about 7,500 km  routes have been identified for the improving effectiveness of economic corridors, GQ and NS-EW Corridors. Sagarmala Programme The vision of the Programme is to reduce logistics cost of Export- Import (EXIM) and domestic trade with minimal infrastructure investment. This includes: reducing the cost of transporting domestic cargo; lowering logistical cost of bulk commodities by locating future industrial capacities near the coast; improving export competitiveness by developing port proximate discrete manufacturing clusters, etc. The objectives of the Programme include: port modernisation, new port development, port connectively, coastal community development, etc.