In news: Tamil Nadu announced that the Cauvery delta region, which is Tamil Nadu’s rice bowl comprising eight districts, will be declared as ‘Protected Special Agricultural Zone’ (PSAZ).

  • Cauvery Delta Zone (CDZ) lies in the eastern part of Tamil Nadu. 
  • It is bounded by the Bay of Bengal on the east and the Palk strait on the south. 
  • In this zone, rice is the principal crop.


Special Agricultural Zone 

It is defined as one where agricultural land is preserved for posterity because of its importance to increasing agriculture production and promoting livelihood security for a large number of farm families.

  • Agricultural scientists such as M.S. Swaminathan has for long mooted such zones similar to special economic zones; like the Indira Gandhi Canal Area (Rajasthan Canal) in Rajasthan, the Kuttanad wetlands of Kerala, Punjab-Haryana belt etc.

Related News - Globally Important Agricultural Heritage systems (GIAHS)

  • In order to safeguard and support the world’s agri-cultural heritage systems, FAO started an initiative for the identification and the dynamic conservation of Globally Important Agricultural Heritage systems (GIAHS) in 2002
  • These traditional agricultural systems represent models of sustainable agricultural production.
  • Globally Important Agricultural Heritage systems (GIAHS) in India
  • Saffron Heritage of Kashmir, India, 2011
  • Koraput Traditional Agriculture, India, 2012
  • Kuttanad Below Sea Level Farming System, India, 2013