• Amid a boycott of House proceedings by many Opposition parties, Rajya Sabha passed seven key Bills in three-and-a-half hours on Tuesday.
  • Most of the Opposition, including the Congress, Left parties, the Trinamool Congress, the Samajwadi Party and the Nationalist Congress Party, decided to boycott proceedings for the remainder of the session in protest against the suspension of eight MPs.
  1. The first Bill passed was the Indian Institutes of Information Technology Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020 that seeks to declare five Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) set up under the public-private partnership mode in Surat, Bhopal, Bhagalpur, Agartala, and Raichur as institutions of national importance.
  2. The next Bill was the Essential Commodities (Amendment) Bill, 2020. 
  • Ordinance was promulgated in the midst of the lockdown so that farmers had a way of selling their crops. 

Banking regulations.

  1. The Banking Regulation (Amendment) Bill, 2020, which was moved by Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, was also passed in the Upper House. Ms. Sitharaman said the Bill was important as there have been many banks and cooperative societies that have had problems in the past year and a half. 
  2. The fourth Bill that was passed was the Companies (Amendment) Bill which amended 13 sections and added one chapter.
  3. The fifth Bill that was cleared was the National Forensic Sciences University Bill, 2020. Minister of State for Home G. Kishan Reddy said the Gujarat Forensic Sciences University is being upgraded to a national university. 
  4. The House also passed the Rashtriya Raksha University Bill, 2020 to upgrade the Gandhinagar police training university to a national university. 
  5. The seventh Bill — the Taxation and Other Laws (Relaxation and Amendment of Certain Provisions) Bill, 2020 — was returned by Rajya Sabha.