In News: The Rajya Sabha passed The Central Sanskrit Universities Bill, 2019, that intends to convert India’s three deemed-to-be Sanskrit universities into Central Sanskrit Universities. 

  • These are
    • Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan, New Delhi
    • Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, New Delhi, and 
    • Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, Tirupati.

Salient features of the Bill 

  • Functions of the central sanskrit universities:
    • Disseminate and advance knowledge for the promotion of Sanskrit. 
    • Make special provisions for integrated courses in humanities, social sciences, and science, and 
    • Train manpower for the overall development and preservation of Sanskrit and allied subjects.
    • Prescribing courses of study and conducting training programmes.
    • Granting degrees, diplomas, and certificates
    • Providing facilities through a distance education system
    • Conferring autonomous status on a college or an institution
    • Providing instructions for education in Sanskrit and allied subjects.
  • Powers
    • Each University will have the following authorities
    • A court, for reviewing the policies of the university and suggesting measures for its development.
    • An Executive Council, which will be the principal executive body. The 15-member council will include 
      • The Vice-Chancellor appointed by the Centre, who will be the chairperson.
      • A joint secretary of the Ministry of Human Resource Development, and two eminent academics from the field of Sanskrit or allied subjects. 
      • The council will, among other functions, create teaching and academic posts and their appointment, and manage the revenue and property of the university.
    • An Academic and Activity Council, which will supervise academic policies.

A Board of Studies, which will approve the subjects for research and recommend measures to improve standards of teaching.