Manipur and Mizoram assemblies have passed legislations that bar non-residents from settling in the states.

  • The move follows apprehension that there will be an exodus from Assam after the National Register of Citizens has been compiled.
  • Even as the two bills await the Presidential assent, Nagaland has taken up with the Union home ministry its plan of compiling a ‘register of indigenous inhabitants of Nagaland’ (RIIN).
Details Maintenance of Household Registers Bill, 2019 -
  • The Mizoram assembly passed the Maintenance of Household Registers Bill, 2019, on March 18, and sent it to the MHA, the nodal ministry for central scrutiny of state bills and obtaining Presidential assent.
  • Mizoram shares over 700 km of border with Bangladesh and Myanmar.
  • The law intends to provide a credible individual identification system and prevent non-bona fide people from usurping benefits of developmental schemes.
  • At the moment, government schemes tap ‘Aadhaar’ for identifying beneficiaries.
The Manipur People’s Protection Bill
  • The Manipur People’s Protection Bill defines ‘Manipuris’ and ‘non-Manipuris’ and seeks to regulate entry and exit of the latter to protect the interests of the former.
  • The bill lists Meiteis, Pangal Muslims, listed Scheduled Tribes of state and Indian nationals living in Manipur before 1951 as ‘Manipuris’.
 Protected Area ●     According to the Foreigners (Protected Areas) Order, 1958, all areas falling between the Inner line and the International Border of some states are known as protected areas. ●     Most of these protected/ restricted areas are remote locations, situated away from the normal tourist destinations. Protected Area Permit (PAP) ●     The Foreigners (Protected Areas) Order, 1958 requires non-Indian citizens to obtain a Protected Area Permit (PAP) to visit the protected/ restricted areas in India. ●     This requirement is in addition to getting an Indian visa. In order to get the permit, the foreign nationals must meet certain requirements. ●     Even Indian citizens who are not residents of those areas require an Inner Line Permit (ILP) to enter these places. ●     Citizens of Pakistan, Bangladesh, China, and Myanmar can get the PAP only with the approval of the Union Ministry of Home Affairs Duration of PAP ●     The PAP is normally valid for a duration of 10 days, with the option of extension for another 7 days. ●     The PAP is issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs. ●     However, the different authorities of the concerned Indian states can also issue the PAP, and also the Indian missions abroad. Areas for which PAP is required ●     Till recently, the PAP was required for north-eastern states including the whole of Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Sikkim. ●     With the circular dated 30.12.2010, the protected area in the north-east becomes restricted to Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim only. ●     Parts of Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and Jammu, and Kashmir also fall under the protected area category and require PAP. ●     In the case of Sikkim, some parts of the state fall under the protected area regime while others in the restricted area. Some exceptions ●     Citizens of Afghanistan, China, Pakistan and foreign nationals having their origin in these countries would continue to require prior approval of the Ministry of Home Affairs before their visit to the States of Manipur, Mizoram, and Nagaland. ●     Citizens of Myanmar visiting the States of Manipur, Mizoram, and Nagaland beyond 16 Kms from the Indo-Myanmar border would continue to require prior approval of the Ministry of Home Affairs for visiting these States. Restricted Areas ●     Under the Foreigners (Restricted) Areas Order, 1963, the following areas have been declared as `Restricted’ Areas:-
  1. Andaman & Nicobar Islands - Entire Union Territory
  2. Sikkim - Part of the State
●     Restricted Area Permit is required for non-Indians to visit these areas in India. ●     Indian citizens do not need special permission to visit Restricted Areas. ●     The government has excluded 29 inhabited islands in the Union Territory from the Restricted Area Permit (RAP) regime till December 31, 2022, in 2018. ●     However, citizens of Afghanistan, China and Pakistan and foreign nationals having their origin in these countries would continue to require RAP to visit Andaman and Nicobar Islands. ●     In such cases, RAP may be granted only after obtaining prior approval of the  MHA. ●     For visiting Mayabunder and Diglipur, citizens of Myanmar will continue to require RAP which shall be issued only with prior approval of the MHA.  
Source 1 source 2 Read More Articles: The Consumer Protection Bill Passed Draft Personal Data Protection Bill