The 28th cycle of Indo-Thai CORPAT between the Indian Navy (IN) and the Royal Thai Navy (RTN) is being conducted from 05 – 15 September 2019. About INDO-THAI CORPAT

  • Indian Naval (IN) Ship Kesari and His Majesty’s Thailand Ship (HTMS) Kraburi along with Maritime Patrol Aircraft from both the navies are participating in the CORPAT.
  • IN ships and aircraft of Andaman and Nicobar Command have been participating in the biannual Coordinated Patrol (CORPAT) with the Royal Thai Navy (RTN) since 2003.
  • The Objectives of the Indo-Thai CORPAT are to ensure effective implementation of United Nations Conventions on Laws of the Sea (UNCLOS) which specify regulations regarding protection and conservation of natural resources, conservation of marine environment, prevention and suppression of illegal, unregulated fishing activity/ drug trafficking/ piracy, exchange of information in prevention of smuggling, illegal immigration and conduct of Search and Rescue operations at sea.
  • Detailed discussions were held towards the scheduling and conduct of the CORPAT along with joint exercises between ships/ aircraft of both navies.
  • It will enhance strong bilateral ties and maritime cooperation between India and Thailand.
  • Indo-Thai CORPAT seeks to highlight India’s peaceful presence and solidarity with friendly and harmonious countries towards ensuring good order in the maritime domain.
  • The exercise is part of Indian Navy efforts to assist countries in the Indian Ocean Region with EEZ Surveillance, Search and Rescue and other capacity-building and capability-enhancement activities.
About (UNCLOS) (Static) An international treaty that provides a regulatory framework for the use of the world’s seas and oceans, inter alia, to ensure the conservation and equitable usage of resources and the marine environment and to ensure the protection and preservation of the living resources of the sea. It was adopted in 1982 and entered into force in 1994.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Permanent Court of Arbitration (2009)
  • The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) is an international treaty that was adopted and signed in 1982.
  • It replaced the four Geneva Conventions of April 1958, which respectively concerned the territorial sea and the contiguous zone, the continental shelf, the high seas, fishing and conservation of living resources on the high seas.
  • The Convention has created three new institutions on the international scene:
  • The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea,
  • The International Seabed Authority,
  • The Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf.
  • The Convention has become the legal framework for marine and maritime activities and IUCN with its partners are working towards an implementing agreement (UNCLOS IA) that will close important gaps in governance.
  • A positive result would provide a measure of protection and conservation of Areas beyond National Jurisdiction (ABNJ) where there is none at present.
Indo-Thailand Coordinated Patrol Refine your Concepts
Territorial Sea Exclusive Economic Zone High Seas
The sovereignty of a coastal State extends, beyond its land and territory and internal waters and, in the case of an archipelagic State, its archipelagic waters, to an adjacent belt of sea, described as the territorial sea. The breadth of its territorial sea must not exceed a limit of 12 nautical miles. An area beyond and adjacent to the territorial sea, subject to the specific legal regime established in Part V of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), under which the rights and jurisdiction of the coastal State and the rights and freedoms of other States are governed by the relevant provisions of the Convention All parts of the sea that are not included in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ), in the territorial sea or in the internal waters of a State, or in the archipelagic waters of an archipelagic State.
Read More Articles: India And Australia – Development Of The Relations India – Iceland Relation: Scope for More Economic Cooperation