• The Department of Posts, Ministry of Communications, has launched a scheme called Five Star Villages, to ensure universal coverage of flagship postal schemes in rural areas of the country. 
  • The scheme seeks to bridge the gaps in public awareness and reach of postal products and services, especially in interior villages. 
  • The schemes covered under the Five Star scheme include: 
  • i) Savings Bank accounts, Recurrent Deposit Accounts, NSC / KVP certificates, 
  • ii) Sukanya Samridhi Accounts/ PPF Accounts, 
  • iii) Funded Post Office Savings Account linked India Post Payments Bank Accounts, 
  • iv) Postal Life Insurance Policy/Rural Postal Life Insurance Policy and 
  • v) Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana Account / Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Bima Yojana Account.
  • If a village attains universal coverage for four schemes from the above list, then that village gets four-star status; if a village completes three schemes, then that village get three-star status and so on.