• Why in News- The Ministry of Education released a “pre-­draft” version of the National Curriculum Framework for School Education , and has sought feedback from various stakeholders.
  • The pre-­draft covers the framework of curriculum for age groups 3 to 18. 
  • The document says that it leans towards making students acquainted with true sources of knowledge, which have been a philosophical preoccupation of ancient Indians. 
  • These sources focus on six pramanas: 
  1. Pratyaksa, interpreted as perception through five senses; 
  2. Anumana, which uses inferences to come to new conclusions; 
  3. Upamana, which is knowing through analogy and comparison;
  4. Arthapatti, i.e., knowing through circumstantial implication, 
  5. Anupalabdhi, which includes perception of non­existence, and 
  6. Sabda, something an individual can only directly know a fraction of all reality through direct experience and inference.
  • A part of the document focuses on the moral development of a child through panchakosha vikas or fivefold development. This concept is an ancient explanation of the importance of the body­mind link in human experience and understanding.  
  • The pre-­draft recommends developing moral values for the child.
  • The pre-­draft says that for Grade 10 certification, students will have to take two essential courses from humanities, maths and computing, vocational education, physical education, arts education, social science, science and interdisciplinary areas. 
  • In Grade 11 and 12, students will be offered choice­ based courses in the same disciplines for more rigorous engagement. 
  • For Class 11 and 12, the document states, “Modular Board Exams will be offered as opposed to a single exam at the end of the year and final result will be based on cumulative result of each exam.”  

  • What is the National Curriculum Framework?
  • The NCF has four sections:
  1. the National Curriculum Framework for School Education
  2. the National Curriculum Framework for Early Childhood Care and Education
  3. the National Curriculum Framework for Teacher Education
  4. National Curriculum Framework for Adult Education
  • It is an important step taken to implement the New Education Policy-2020.
  • What is NEP, 2020?
  • The National Education Policy 2020 (NEP 2020) is transforming education in India.
  • It has set the education system on a path to delivering the highest quality education for all, with equity and inclusion.
  • Amongst the most transformative aspects of NEP 2020 is the new 5+3+3+4 curricular structure which integrates Early Childhood Care and Education for all children of ages 3 to 8.

National Education Policy 2020 (NEP 2020)new 5+3+3+4 curricular structure