Expansion of Scheduled Areas in Rajasthan

  • The Union Cabinet in April approved the declaration of 227 villages in three districts of Rajasthan as Schedule Areas.

Why Expansion needed:

  •  All the Scheduled Areas were first notified in the year of 1950. Moreover, subsequently, Constitution Orders specifying the Scheduled Areas that were issued for the State of Rajasthan in the year of 1981.
  • Due to reorganization/creation of new districts and changes in the population of Scheduled Tribes as per 2011 Census, the Government of Rajasthan has requested for extension of Scheduled Areas in the State of Rajasthan.


  • All the Scheduled Tribes residing in Banswara, Dungarpur, Pratapgarh, and partial areas of Udaipur, Rajsamand, Chittorgarh, Pali and also Sirohi districts of Rajasthan will get some of the benefits of protective measures which is available under the Fifth Schedule to the Constitution of India.
  • However, the areas comprising of 3 complete districts which are name as, Banswara, Dungarpur, Pratapgarh; 9 complete tehsils, 1 complete block and approx. 46 complete gram panchayats covering 227 villages in district Udaipur, Rajsamand, Chittorgarh, Pali and also Sirohi of Rajasthan, will be included in the Scheduled Areas in the State of Rajasthan.
  • No additional funds are required to be expended on account of the declaration of Scheduled Areas. In fact, this will be one of the parts of Tribal Sub-Plan (now renamed as Tribal Sub-Scheme) within existing schemes of Central and the State Government for more focused attention in Scheduled Areas for effecting speedy development.

Scheduled Areas:

  • It means such areas as the President may by order declare to be Scheduled Areas'. 
  • Moreover, in accordance with the provisions of paragraph 6(2) of the Fifth Schedule to the Constitution, in fact, the President may at any time by order increase all the area of any Scheduled Area in the State after consultation with the Governor of that particular state.

Governor’s Power under Schedule Five

  • To make regulation for peace and also good governance of any area in the state which is a Scheduled Area such as prohibiting or restricting the transfer of land by or within members of the Scheduled Tribes in the Scheduled areas; regulating the allotment of land to members of the Scheduled Tribes in those areas; regulating the money lending business by those who lend some money to people of the Scheduled Tribes in such areas.
  • To direct about non-application of any act which has been passed by our Parliament or the Legislature of the State to a Scheduled Area.
  • Moreover, the Governor can make such regulations only after consultation with the Tribes Advisory Council (TAC) of the state.
  • The provisions of the Fifth Schedule have seen further legal and also administrative reinforcement in the form of Provisions of Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act, in the year of 1996.
Read Also: NITI Aayog