The latest edition of the East Asia Summit (EAS) held in Bangkok.

  • The East Asia Summit (EAS) established in 2005 is a forum of 18 regional leaders for strategic dialogue and cooperation on the key political, security, and economic challenges facing the Indo-Pacific region.
  • EAS is an initiative of ASEAN and is based on the premise of the centrality of ASEAN.
  • It is a forum held annually by leaders of 18 countries in the East Asian, Southeast Asian and South Asian regions.
    • The 18 members include the 10 ASEAN countries along with Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, the US and Russia. 
  • EAS meetings are held after annual ASEAN leaders’ meetings.
  • There are six priority areas of regional cooperation within the framework of the EAS. These are namely Environment and Energy, Education, Finance, Global Health Issues and Pandemic Diseases, Natural Disaster Management, and ASEAN Connectivity. India endorses regional collaboration in all six priority areas.
  • The countries also meet at another forum i.e. ASEAN Defence Ministers Meeting (ADMM) Plus.
  • India’s membership to the EAS is a recognition of its fast growing economic and political clout.