Context: The Department of Science & Technology has constituted a joint Science Communication Forum with a view to facilitate interaction, cooperation, and coordination amongst various public sector science communication institutions and agencies.

More on news: 

  • The Forum will bring together science communication efforts spread across various institutions and can help adoption of a common policy and best practices at a wider scale, ultimately aiming towards a national science communication framework.
  • Forum would work upon strategies for effective planning and implementation of science communication programmes at macro and micro levels in the country.
  • Objective of the forum:  To spread scientific awareness and inculcate scientific temper amongst the masses leading to an innovation-driven society that contributes towards an ecosystem for Atmanirbhar Bharat.
  • The Forum would be served by a Secretariat at the National Council for Science & Technology Communication (NCSTC), Department of Science & Technology, which is mandated for coordination with different organizations, programmes and activities focused on science communication.
    • It is also mandated to formulate countrywide programmes, policies, and activities in the domain of science communication and popularization in the country.

India's organizational structure on science communication

  • At least five national organizations are working on the growth and development of science communication. These are the 
    • National Institute of Science Communication and Information Resources (1951), 
    • Homi Bhabha Center for Science Education (1974), 
    • National Council of Science Museums (1978), 
    • National Council for Science & Technology Communication (1982), and 
    • Vigyan Prasar (1989).
  • In addition, different scientific organizations have their own science communication wings. They include 
    • Unit for Science Dissemination (CSIR), 
    • Directorate of Knowledge Management in Agriculture (ICAR), 
    • Publication & Information Division (ICMR), 
    • Directorate of Public Interface (DRDO), 
    • Public Awareness Division (DAE), 
    • Office of Media & Public Relations (ISRO), Science Cells, AIR, etc.

Source: https://pib.gov.in/PressReleseDetail.aspx?PRID=1630873

Image Source: freshersalive