GS2: Polity    

GS2: Social Justice      

  •  "Explained: The UN’s guidelines on access to social justice for people with disabilities(IE)" The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, which was adopted in 2007 as the first major instrument of human rights in the 21st century, defines persons with disabilities as those “who have long-term physical, mental, intellectual or sensory impairments which in interaction with various barriers may hinder their full and effective participation in society on an equal basis with others”.

GS2: International Relations        

GS3: Economy    

  • Rupee gains nearly 2% in a week: What are the factors driving the upswing?(IE) The rupee rose nearly two per cent to 73.40 against the US dollar last week as foreign portfolio investors (FPIs) pumped more money into Indian markets and the Reserve Bank of India refrained from intervening in the foreign exchange market.
  • "Govt to soon fill top posts in key regulatory bodies(Mint) The Financial Sector Regulatory Appointment Search Committee, comprising the cabinet secretary, RBI governor, and the financial services secretary, interviewed the candidates. The responsibility of financial regulation falls on the now vacant post of deputy governor.
  • 17TH ASEAN-India Economic Ministers’ Consultations held(PIB) The Ministers’ discussion centred on the review of the ASEAN India Trade in Goods Agreement (AITIGA). The Ministers appreciated the growing trade ties and deepening economic engagement between two parties.  The report of the ASEAN India Business Council (AIBC) was placed before the Ministers.

PIB Corner  

  •  President of India virtually presents National Sports and Adventure Awards, 2020(PIB) The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, the highest sporting honour of the country is given for spectacular and outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years. There were five winners of the award this year, cricketer Rohit Sharma, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, table tennis player Manika Batra, hockey player Rani Rampal and Para-athlete Mariyappan Thangavelu. The Arjuna Award is given for consistent performances over a period of four years, amongst the winners this year were shooters Saurabh Chaudhary and Manu Bhaker, wrestler Divya Kakran, boxer Lovlina Borgohain and badminton stars Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy. This year athletes in KhoKho, Kabaddi, Equestrian and winter sports were also awarded with the Arjuna Award.