Context: The Commission for Air Quality Management in the National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas Ordinance, 2020 has been signed by the President.

About the commission


  • The commission is a statutory authority.
  • It will work on research, better coordination, identification, and resolution of problems in the Air Quality Index in the National Capital Region.


  • It will consist of a chairperson, members from the state of Punjab, Haryana, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan. 
  • The commission will consist of members from ISRO (Indian Space Research Organization) and the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB).


  • The commission will take measures to entertain complaints, issue directions in order to protect and improve the air quality in the NCR. 
  • The commission will lay down parameters for discharging or emitting environmental pollutants from various sources.


The Commission is to have three Sub-Committees. They are as follows

  • Monitoring and Identification
  • Research and Development
  • Safeguarding and Enforcement

Image Source: IE