• The Caribbean community, also known as CARICOM, was formed in 1973 by the Treaty of Chaguaramas.  
  • It is an economic and political community that works jointly to shape policies for the region and encourages economic growth and trade.  
    • Its major activities involve coordinating economic policies and development planning; devising and instituting special projects for the less-developed countries within its jurisdiction; operating as a regional single market for many of its members (Caricom Single Market); and handling regional trade disputes. 
    • The secretariat headquarters is in Georgetown, Guyana. 
  • It is a grouping of 15 member states and five associate members (Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands and Turks & Caicos Islands).  
    • Its membership is open to any other State or Territory of the Caribbean Region.  
  • First ever India- CARICOM leaders' summit was recently held.  India announced a $14-million grant for community development projects and a $150 million Line of Credit for solar, renewable energy and climate-change related works.
  • CARICOM is an official United Nations Observer.