The 16th ASEAN-India Summit was attended by all Heads of State/Government of the ASEAN Member States and Prime Minister of the Republic of India.

Outcomes of  16th ASEAN- India summit:

  • Reaffirmed commitment to continue the implementation of the Delhi Declaration.
  • ASEAN-India will look forward to a new Plan of Action (2021-2025) as a guiding document to further enhance ASEAN-India cooperation in areas of mutual interest, and continue bringing about tangible benefits to the peoples of both sides as well as contributing to the promotion of peace, stability, and prosperity in the region.
  • Reiterated shared commitment to support ASEAN centrality and ASEAN-led mechanisms in the evolving regional architecture that is open, transparent, inclusive and rules-based.
  • ASEAN Leaders appreciated India’s active participation and positive contribution to ASEAN-led mechanisms, including the East Asia Summit (EAS), the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF), the ASEAN Defence Ministers’ Meeting-Plus (ADMM-Plus).
  • Emphasized the need to enhance ASEAN-India collaborative efforts in countering terrorism, radicalization, violent extremism, and transnational crimes, and the need to strengthen cooperation on cybersecurity through supporting the implementation of the ASEAN Cybersecurity Cooperation Strategy and the ARF Work Plan on Security of and in the Use of Information and Communication Technologies.
  • ASEAN Leaders reiterated the importance of the ASEAN Outlook on the IndoPacific (AOIP), appreciated India’s support of the AOIP and encouraged India to undertake cooperation with ASEAN.
  • ASEAN Leaders welcomed the conclusion of the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) negotiations and the commitment to sign the RCEP Agreement in 2020.
  • ASEAN Leaders also expressed appreciation to India for launching 1,000 doctoral fellowships for ASEAN students at Indian institutes of technology on 16 September 2019.
  • ASEAN-India will look forward to the expeditious conclusion of the ASEAN-India Air Transport Agreement (AI-ATA) and the ASEAN-India Maritime Transport Agreement (AI-MTA).

About ASEAN:


  • The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (more commonly known as ASEAN) is an intergovernmental organization aimed primarily at promoting economic growth and regional stability among its members.
  • There are currently 10 member states: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Laos, Myanmar, Cambodia and Vietnam.
  • ASEAN was founded half a century ago in 1967 by the five Southeast Asian nations of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. 
  • In 2015, it established the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC), a major milestone in the organization’s regional economic integration agenda. The AEC envisions the bloc as a single market with free flow of goods, services, investments and skilled labour, and freer movement of capital across the region.