The Ashgabat Agreement came into force in April 2016. 

  • Its objective is to enhance connectivity within the Eurasian region and synchronize it with other regional transport corridors, including the International North–South Transport Corridor (INSTC).
  • The Agreement was first signed by Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Iran, Oman and Qatar on 25 April 2011. 
  • Ashgabat Agreement is an international transport and transit corridor facilitating transportation of goods between Central Asia and the Persian Gulf.
  • The Ashgabat Agreement aims to develop the shortest trade route between Central Asian countries and Iranian and Omani ports.
  • While Qatar subsequently withdrew from the agreement in 2013, Kazakhstan and Pakistan joined the grouping in 2016.

Significance for India:

  • It will enable India to utilize the existing transport and transit corridor to facilitate trade and commercial interaction with the Eurasian region.
  • It would synchronize India’s efforts to implement the International North-South Transport Corridor (INSTC) for enhanced connectivity.