Objectives of the scheme

The Mission will focus on the following Thrust Areas: 

  • Water supply, 
  • Sewerage facilities and septage management, 
  • Pedestrian, non-motorized and public transport facilities, parking spaces, and  
  • Enhancing amenity value of cities by creating and upgrading green spaces, parks and recreation centers, especially for children. 
  • Storm water drains to reduce flooding, 

Salient Features

  • Five hundred cities will be taken up under AMRUT which include: 
  • All Cities and Towns with a population of over one lakh with notified Municipalities, including Cantonment Boards (Civilian areas), 
  • All Capital Cities/Towns of States/ UTs, not covered in above , 
  • All Cities/ Towns classified as Heritage Cities by MoUD under the HRIDAY Scheme, 
  • Thirteen Cities and Towns on the stem of the main rivers with a population above 75,000 and less than 1 lakh, and 
  • Ten Cities from hill states, islands and tourist destinations (not more than one from each State). 
  • The total outlay for AMRUT is Rs. 50,000 crore for five years from FY2015-16 to FY2019-20 and the Mission will be operated as a Centrally Sponsored Scheme. 
  • Ten percent of the annual budget allocation shall be kept apart and given to the States/UTs every year as incentive for achievement of Reforms. 
  • Central assistance will be released in three instalments in the ratio of 20:40:40 based on achievement stated in State Annual Action Plans. 
  • It makes States equal partners in planning and implementation of projects, thus actualizing the spirit of cooperative federalism by replacing the project-by-project sanctions by MoUD by approval of the State Annual Action Plan once a year by the MoUD and the States have to give project sanctions and approval at their end. 
  • It also involves individual and institutional capacity building of the Mission Cities and ULBs.
  • Recently, Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs has decided to provide incentive to ULBs covered under AMRUT for Issuance of Municipal Bonds.