Context: Parliament was adjourned sine die recently amid growing concerns over the Covid-19 outbreak and the effective lockdown across several parts of India.

More about the news:

  • The Lok Sabha passed the Finance Bill without debate before it was adjourned sine die. 
  • The Union government also introduced in Rajya Sabha two classified bills as money bills.
  • Rajyasabha elections likely to be postponed:
    • With the budget session adjourned sine die, Rajya Sabha elections scheduled for Thursday will most likely be postponed.
    • Nearly one-fifth of Rajya Sabha members are retiring.While 37 members have already been elected unopposed, polling was scheduled to take place for 18 seats on Thursday.
    • Most legislative businesses across state assemblies have also been suspended due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Sessions of the parliament

  • There are usually three sessions in a year. They are
    1. Budget Session (February to May); 
    2. the Monsoon Session (July to September); 
    3. Winter Session (November to December).
  • Meetings and Sittings:A Session of parliament consists of many meetings.Each meeting consists of two sittings those are
    1. Morning sitting-11 am to 1 pm 
    2. Post lunch sitting- 2 pm to 6 pm
  • Termination of a sitting:A sitting of a parliament can be terminated by adjournment or Adjournment Sine die or Prorogation or Dissolution.



Adjournment Sine die



It suspends the work in a sitting for a specified time, which may be hours, days or weeks. 


An adjournment only terminates a sitting and not a session of the House. 

It means terminating a sitting of Parliament for an indefinite period. 


In other words, when the House is adjourned without naming a day for reassembly, it is called adjournment sine die. 

It terminates both the sitting and session of the House


Usually, within a few days after the House is adjourned sine die by the presiding officer, the President issues a notification for the prorogation of the session.


However, the President can also prorogue the House while in session.

A dissolution ends the very life of the existing House, and a new House is constituted after general elections are held.  


Rajya Sabha, being a permanent House, is not subject to dissolution. Only the Lok Sabha is subject to dissolution.

The power of adjournment lies with the presiding officer of the House.

The power of adjournment sine die lies with the presiding officer of the House.

The power of Prorogation lies with the President under article 85(2)(a) of the Constitution.

The dissolution of the Lok Sabha may take place in either of two ways:


1.Automatic dissolution: On the expiry of its tenure 


2.Order of President: under certain circumstances before the completion of its normal tenure.